Earlier this month, YouTube decided to discontinue suggesting videos based on individual watch history for users who opt to deactivate the feature.
The changes will apply to both app and desktop versions of YouTube which are linked to a Google account.
By deactivating watch history, the YouTube home tab will show a search bar and a notice to update the setting.
While it may be strange for some, people who prefer to watch YouTube videos solely from channels they’ve subscribed to will love the new update.
For those who have found interesting videos from the previous format, turning on watch history is the only way to ensure that you keep finding similar videos since YouTube’s algorithm is heavy on watch history to recommend related videos to subscribers.
Does turning on watch history give out certain data to YouTube? Well, yes YouTube can recommend videos to you based on those you’ve already watched.
If you decide to turn it off, you only prevent YouTube from suggesting new videos to you.
You will still see ads on your videos and all the info you share with Google can be accessed by YouTube. Also, the ads you see may be more targeted solely based on websites you have visited in the past.
How to find new content
Want to keep your watch history off but still want to find new content? The next best thing is to check out the Shorts tab to find new channels closely related to the ones you’re already subscribed to.
Another way is to watch YouTube through an Incognito tab. You will find new content under the home tab while not directly being associated with your Google account.